Real Madrid Crowned New Champions of Spain, Win 35th Title

Marcelo and Benzema holding the La Liga trophy


They have lost their UEFA Champions League semi-finals first leg to Manchester City but Real Madrid have a big reason to smile.

Los Blancos lifted their 35th La Liga title on Saturday afternoon, April 30, 2022.

A resounding 4 – 0 win over Espanyol was enough to see Real Madrid end their 2021/2022 season as Champions of Spain.

Atletico Madrid were the reigning Champions until Real Madrid defeated Espanyol under the supervision of their coach, Carlos Ancelotti.

Real Madrid won their first ever La Liga title in 1932. In 1933, they retained the title but failed to win it again in 1934.

It wasn’t until 1954 when they won their third La Liga title, and continued winning it in 1955.

Madrid won their last La Liga title in 2020, losing it to Atletico Madrid in 2021.