Monday, June 17, 2024

Latest Posts


The 10th annual AFRIMMA awards lit up the night on September 17, 2023, with a star-studded celebration.

In Texas, the heart of it all, a constellation of Nigerian superstars graced the event, and they departed with shining trophies to their names. Here’s a glimpse into the highlights:

Nigerian megastar Davido clinched the grand prize of Album of the Year for his phenomenal fourth record, ‘Timeless.’ Meanwhile, the brilliant Rema emerged triumphant, eclipsing Asake and other luminaries to claim the coveted Artist of the Year title.

Ayra Starr, with her exceptional talents, soared high to become the Best Female for West Africa, while the stage came alive with the electrifying performance of Flavour, earning him the Best Live Performance award. A rising star, ODUMODUBLVCK, emerged as the Best Newcomer, and Blaqbonez showcased his lyrical prowess, bagging the prestigious Best Rap Act award.

In addition, KCee’s illustrious career was honored with the AFRIMMA Legendary award, and the legendary Timaya was celebrated with the Lifetime Achievement award, a testament to his enduring influence.

But that’s not all; the AFRIMMA awards encompassed a diverse range of categories, recognizing talent from across the African continent.This illustrious event also featured the AFRIMMA Legendary Award, presented to the remarkable Kcee of Nigeria, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, a joint tribute to Fally Ipupa (DR Congo) and Timaya (Nigeria).

The AFRIMMA awards not only celebrate the achievements of these exceptional artists but also serve as a vibrant showcase of the rich and diverse musical tapestry of Africa.

Below is the full list of winners:

Artist of the Year: Rema – Nigeria

Best Male West Africa: King Promise – Ghana

Best Female West Africa: Ayra Starr – Nigeria

Best Male East Africa: Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania

Best Female East Africa: Nadia Mukami – Kenya

Best Male Central Africa: Fabregas – DR Congo

Best Male Southern Africa: AKA – South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa: Nadia Nakai – South Africa

Best Gospel: Mike Kalambay – DRC

Best DJ Africa: Ms DSF – Nigeria

Best African DJ USA: DJ Freshy K – Nigeria

Music Producer of the Year: Maajabu Gospel

Best Francophone: Fally Ipupa – DR Congo

Best African Group: Toofan – Togo

Congratulations to all the winners from us all at AE!

Latest Posts


Don't Miss